h1

Hometime

December 23, 2007

3 comments

  1. Kind of it makes me think of – well, it’s kind of funny but, what were those things that were getting the plants – dogs? It makes me think of dogs going into war to fight for something they care about.


  2. It makes me think of mommy giving me a hug.


  3. Hello Lexi and Devin. What great comments….and Devin – a great question you raise. What were those little dog like characters?…I’m not sure either, but I’ll tell you some of my thoughts, if you like.

    I think the dogs were supposed to be like you and me. I think they represented real people (with the lyric when they first appear coming from the oppressive factory “[the animals in the zoo] look a lot like everybody”) – and that this is a fable of some kind to do with your spirit rising above the mean and dirty world of stuff.

    They go through three metamorphoses, the first is like their souls flying up to the Eskimos dirigible, or ark (“seeds” in the lyrics), then they grow into plants, and then the flowers bloom back into being dogs. But clearly not the same down trodden dogs we first met!

    Finally they get handed back plants, and descend back down to into the dirty world – and transform it into something beautiful (the explosion which results in that wonderful old glistening tree). In my opinion, the same world, but made new by the fresh evolved dogs.

    There’s so much wonderful allegory here, it would be shame to analyze it to death. So, you know what, Devin? I think your interpretation of “dogs going into war to fight for something they care about” is a fine interpretation. Very fine indeed!



Leave a comment